Pepys Dictate and MacWhisper
A dictation-first alternative to MacWhisper
MacWhisper is mainly a file and meeting transcriber with system-wide dictation included. If dictation is what you came for, here is how the two compare.
Is Pepys Dictate a good MacWhisper alternative?
Choose Pepys Dictate if dictation is the whole job: it cleans and formats speech on your Mac for $9.99 once, with no AI service needed by default. Choose MacWhisper if you also transcribe files or record meetings, or need 100 languages, exports and integrations. Its dictation cleanup is a Pro feature.
MacWhisper is a file and meeting transcriber first. Drag in a recording, a podcast or a YouTube link and you get a transcript with subtitles and, in Pro, speaker labels. System-wide dictation is one feature inside it, and the free tier includes it as plain Whisper output.
This page covers only the dictation side. In MacWhisper, cleanup such as spelling and grammar fixes, AI prompts and per-app prompts is part of Pro, and it needs an AI service you set up with your own key or a local model. In Pepys Dictate, speech goes in and formatted text comes out at your cursor, and both steps run on your Mac.
Pepys Dictate and MacWhisper, side by side
MacWhisper facts come from its own pages, read on October 5, 2026. Where something is not publicly stated, the cell is a dash.
| Feature | Pepys Dictate | MacWhisper |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Dictation into any Mac app. | File and meeting transcription. System-wide dictation is one feature among them. |
| Price | $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, up to 3 Macs. Not a subscription. | Free tier, plus Pro at EUR 64 per licence, one-time, with lifetime updates (macwhisper.com). Its Gumroad page lists EUR 65. No USD price on official pages. The Mac App Store build and the iOS app use in-app subscriptions (weekly, monthly, yearly), which the one-time Pro does not cover. |
| Dictation on the free plan | 2,000 words a week with smart formatting (spoken corrections, lists, numbers) and all 25 languages, on 1 Mac. | System-wide dictation with Whisper is included free, as plain Whisper output. |
| Dictation cleanup | Spoken corrections, lists, numbers and filler-word removal, formatted by our own on-device model. No key or AI service needed by default. | Spelling and grammar cleanup, AI-prompt dictation and per-app prompts are Pro and need an AI service: your own key, or a local model through Ollama or LM Studio. Filler-word removal is listed among its transcription features, with the tier not stated. |
| Where dictation is processed | Speech recognition and formatting both run on the Mac. No cloud transcription. Audio and text are not uploaded by default. | Local Whisper models by default. Pro can add cloud transcription and AI services with your own keys, which may send audio or text to the provider you pick. |
| Per-app behavior | Per-app styles, polished mode and tones, and a personal dictionary (10 words free, unlimited in Pro). | Different AI prompts per app, and your own dictation prompts in Settings (Pro). |
| Meetings and files | No meeting recording and no file transcription. | Pro records meetings in Zoom, Teams, Webex and others with no bot joining. Transcribes files, YouTube links and podcasts, with subtitles and speaker labels (Pro). |
| Languages | 25: English plus 24 other European languages. | 100 languages for transcription, Whisper-based. The dictation language list is not stated. |
| Platforms | Mac only. No Windows, iPhone or iPad. | Mac app from macwhisper.com, plus an iPhone and iPad app. System-wide dictation is only in the direct-download Mac version, not the Mac App Store build. |
| Minimum macOS and chip | macOS 13 or later, Apple silicon required. | macOS 14.0 or later per its Gumroad page. Runs on Intel Macs, though performance may vary. Some of its newer local models and its local speaker recognition need Apple silicon. |
Where Pepys Dictate is different
Cleanup without an AI service
Dictate formats on the Mac with its own small model, so no key, AI provider or prompt is needed by default. In MacWhisper, the cleanup and prompt features need Pro plus an AI service you configure.
Formatted text on the free plan
Dictate's free plan gives you 2,000 words a week with spoken corrections, lists and numbers already formatted. MacWhisper's free dictation is plain Whisper output, and its cleanup is part of Pro.
Dictation features included in one $9.99 payment
Dictate is $9.99 once and keeps polished mode, tones, per-app styles and the higher-accuracy model after the trial, on up to 3 Macs. MacWhisper Pro is also one-time, listed at EUR 64 on macwhisper.com, and its per-app prompts and cleanup sit behind it.
A narrower app
Dictate has no file queue and no meeting recorder. If you transcribe files, our separate web tool Pepys Transcribe handles that job.
Where MacWhisper is the better choice
File transcription and meetings
MacWhisper transcribes dropped files, YouTube links and podcasts, labels speakers (Pro), and records Zoom, Teams or Webex calls without a bot joining. Dictate does none of that.
100 languages
MacWhisper lists 100 languages for transcription, and its dictation language list is not stated. Dictate dictates in 25, all European, and its smart formatting covers English, German, French and Spanish.
Exports and automation
MacWhisper offers subtitles and many export formats. Pro adds a command-line tool, watch folders, and forwarding to Notion, Zapier, Obsidian, n8n or a custom webhook. It also lists Apple Intelligence and Shortcuts integration, MDM deployment and volume packs, which suit teams. Dictate has no team, admin or SSO features.
Intel Macs, iPhone and free dictation
MacWhisper runs on Intel Macs, though performance may vary, has an iPhone and iPad app, and includes free dictation with no stated word cap. Dictate's free plan is 2,000 words a week, it needs an Apple silicon Mac, and it has no mobile app.
Choose Pepys Dictate if
- Mostly you dictate into email, chat and documents and want clean text with no AI service needed by default.
- Spoken corrections, lists and numbers should be formatted on the Mac, including on a free plan.
- One $9.99 payment covering up to 3 Macs, with no subscription, is the appeal.
- An Apple silicon Mac on macOS 13 or later is what you have, and you need no file or meeting transcription.
Choose MacWhisper if
- Files, YouTube links or podcasts need transcribing, or you want speaker labels and subtitles.
- Meetings in Zoom, Teams or Webex need recording, with transcripts and no bot joining.
- The job calls for 100 transcription languages, an Intel Mac, an iPhone and iPad app, or free dictation with no stated word cap.
- Exports and automation matter: a command-line tool, Shortcuts, webhooks, Notion, Zapier, Obsidian or watch folders.
Common questions about MacWhisper and Pepys Dictate
Is Pepys Dictate a good MacWhisper alternative?
Choose Pepys Dictate if dictation is the whole job: it cleans and formats speech on your Mac for $9.99 once, with no AI service needed by default. Choose MacWhisper if you also transcribe files or record meetings, or need 100 languages, exports and integrations. Its dictation cleanup is a Pro feature.
Does MacWhisper have system-wide dictation?
Yes. Its pricing table lists system-wide dictation with Whisper on both the free tier and Pro. It only exists in the direct-download Mac version from macwhisper.com, not in the Mac App Store build, which is named Whisper Transcription.
How much does MacWhisper Pro cost?
MacWhisper's homepage lists Pro at EUR 64 per licence, one-time, with lifetime updates. Its Gumroad page lists a single licence at EUR 65. No USD price appears on official pages. The Mac App Store build and the iOS app use in-app subscriptions instead. Pepys Dictate Pro is $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, for up to 3 Macs.
Does MacWhisper clean up dictated text?
Free dictation is plain Whisper output. Spelling and grammar cleanup, AI-prompt dictation and per-app prompts need an active Pro licence and an AI service: your own API key or a local model. Filler-word removal is listed among its transcription features, with the tier not stated. Pepys Dictate formats on the Mac with no AI service needed by default.
Does MacWhisper dictation send my voice to the cloud?
Not by default: it uses local models on the Mac. Pro can add cloud transcription and AI services with your own keys, which may send audio or text to those providers. Its privacy policy, dated February 2024, says no data leaves the device. Pepys Dictate has no cloud transcription, and audio and text are not uploaded by default.
Can Pepys Dictate transcribe audio files or record meetings?
No. Dictate is for live dictation only, with no file transcription and no meeting recording. For files, meetings, speaker labels or subtitles on a Mac, MacWhisper is the better fit.
Where these facts came from
- MacWhisper homepage and pricing (read October 5, 2026)
- MacWhisper on Gumroad (read October 5, 2026)
- MacWhisper dictation docs (read October 5, 2026)
- MacWhisper privacy policy (read October 5, 2026)
- MacWhisper vs Whisper Transcription (App Store build) (read October 5, 2026)
Products change. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.
Compare more dictation apps
Try Pepys Dictate on your Mac
Free for 2,000 words a week, or $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, for unlimited use on up to 3 Macs. Speech recognition and formatting run on your Mac.
Apple silicon, macOS 13 or later. More about Pepys Dictate