Pepys

Pepys Dictate and Willow Voice

A Willow Voice alternative that runs on your Mac

Willow Voice is a subscription with cloud processing by default and compliance for teams. Pepys Dictate is a one-time Mac app that recognizes speech on the machine.

Is Pepys Dictate a good Willow Voice alternative?

Choose Pepys Dictate if you want dictation that runs on your Mac for $9.99 once, with no subscription and no account. Choose Willow Voice if you need Windows or iPhone support, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA support (BAA on higher tiers), or team administration. Willow processes in the cloud by default.

Willow Voice turns speech into formatted text in any text field, and it adds Scribe, a mode where you describe what you want written. Its help center says it uses cloud-based AI models, and its security page says it runs on cloud infrastructure in the United States. It also advertises an Offline mode for Mac and iOS.

Pepys Dictate takes the opposite default. Speech recognition and formatting run on your Mac, there is no account, and the price is one payment. The trade is reach: Dictate is Mac only and has no team or compliance features, which is where Willow is the stronger choice. The sections below set out both sides.

Pepys Dictate and Willow Voice, side by side

Willow Voice facts come from its own pages, read on October 5, 2026. Where something is not publicly stated, the cell is a dash.

Feature comparison of Pepys Dictate and Willow Voice
FeaturePepys DictateWillow Voice
Price$9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, up to 3 Macs. Not a subscription.Subscription that renews automatically. Pro shows $15 and $12 per user per month on its pricing page, which does not label monthly versus annual; its help center says $15 monthly with 20% off annual billing. Business shows $35 and $28 a month, also unlabeled, with no matching help-center figure. Enterprise is custom.
Free plan2,000 words a week, smart formatting and all 25 languages, on 1 Mac. After that, one free dictation a day until Monday.Per its pricing page, Basic (Free): unlimited use of a weaker model (Frontier Mini), limited personalization and 20 Scribe uses a week. No card needed.
Where speech is processedOn the Mac. No cloud transcription, and audio and text are not uploaded by default.Cloud by default: its help center says cloud-based AI models, and its security FAQ says cloud infrastructure in the United States.
Works offlineRuns on the Mac. It goes online only to download models once, activate a licence key and check for updates.An Offline mode is advertised for Mac and iOS, and its help center lists offline dictation under the paid plan. How it works is not documented on the pages we read.
PlatformsMac only: Apple silicon, macOS 13 or later. No Windows, iPhone, iPad or Android.Mac, Windows and iPhone. Android is listed as coming soon. Minimum macOS version is not stated on the pages we read.
Languages25: English plus 24 other European languages. Smart formatting covers English, German, French and Spanish.100+ languages, with switching between them.
Text cleanup and writing helpSpoken corrections, lists, numbers and filler-word removal, formatted by our own on-device model.Removes filler words, fixes punctuation, formats, and learns your writing style. Scribe drafts or rewrites text from a spoken instruction.
CustomizationPersonal dictionary (10 words free, unlimited in Pro), per-app styles, polished mode and tones.Auto-learning dictionary, saved text shortcuts, and different writing styles per app.
Team and adminNo team or admin features.Business and Team plans: centralized billing, shared team dictionary and shortcuts, a management dashboard, and Billing Admin, Admin and Member roles.
ComplianceNo SSO or compliance certifications.SOC 2 Type II, audited by an independent firm, with the report under NDA. HIPAA support with a BAA on higher tiers. SAML SSO, SCIM, MSA and DPA on Enterprise.
Data-training policyAudio and text are not uploaded by default. An opt-in usage event with no content is off until you turn it on.States voice and text are not used to improve AI models without consent. Privacy Mode is on by default, and an opt-in setting lets it retain anonymized recognized text, not audio.

Where Pepys Dictate is different

Where Willow Voice is the better choice

Choose Pepys Dictate if

  • Speech recognition and formatting should run on your Mac, with no cloud transcription.
  • Paying $9.99 once beats a monthly subscription for you.
  • Your devices are up to 3 Apple silicon Macs, and you need no Windows, iPhone or team features.
  • A free plan with 2,000 words a week and smart formatting is enough to start.

Choose Willow Voice if

  • Windows or iPhone has to work alongside your Mac, on one shared account.
  • Compliance or a stated privacy policy is a requirement: SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA with a BAA, SSO or SCIM, or Privacy Mode on by default.
  • Shared team dictionaries, admin roles and centralized billing are on your list.
  • Scribe drafting and rewriting from a spoken instruction, dictating prompts into Cursor, Claude Code or Codex, or 100+ languages would help.

Common questions about Willow Voice and Pepys Dictate

Is Pepys Dictate a good Willow Voice alternative?

Choose Pepys Dictate if you want dictation that runs on your Mac for $9.99 once, with no subscription and no account. Choose Willow Voice if you need Windows or iPhone support, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA support (BAA on higher tiers), or team administration. Willow processes in the cloud by default.

How much does Willow Voice cost?

Its pricing page shows Pro at $15 and $12 per user per month, and Business at $35 and $28 a month, without labeling monthly versus annual. Its help center says Pro is $15 monthly with 20% off annual billing, and has no matching figure for Business. Enterprise is custom, and plans change. Pepys Dictate Pro is $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable.

Does Willow Voice have a free plan?

Yes. Per its pricing page, Basic (Free) gives unlimited use of a weaker model, limited personalization and 20 Scribe uses a week, with no card needed. Its help center describes different plan names and limits, so check the pricing page. Pepys Dictate's free plan is 2,000 words a week.

Does Willow Voice process my voice in the cloud?

By default, yes. Its help center says it uses cloud-based AI models, and its security FAQ says cloud infrastructure in the United States. It advertises an Offline mode for Mac and iOS, but how that works is not documented on the pages we read. Pepys Dictate has no cloud transcription.

Is Willow Voice HIPAA compliant and SOC 2 certified?

Willow states SOC 2 Type II, audited by an independent third party, with the report available under NDA. It states HIPAA support with Business Associate Agreements on higher tiers. Wording on which tier varies across its pages, so confirm with Willow. Pepys Dictate has no compliance features.

Does Willow Voice work on Windows?

Yes. Willow lists Mac, Windows and iPhone, with Android coming soon on its pricing page. Pepys Dictate is Mac only: Apple silicon and macOS 13 or later.

Does Willow Voice train on my data?

Willow states your voice and text are not used to improve AI models without your consent, and Privacy Mode is on by default. An optional opt-in setting lets it retain anonymized recognized text, not audio. Pepys Dictate does not upload audio or text by default.

Where these facts came from

Products change. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

Compare more dictation apps

Try Pepys Dictate on your Mac

Free for 2,000 words a week, or $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, for unlimited use on up to 3 Macs. Speech recognition and formatting run on your Mac.

One email when it launches. Nothing else, and you can unsubscribe in one click.

Apple silicon, macOS 13 or later. More about Pepys Dictate