Pepys

Roundup

Best free dictation apps for Mac

Seven apps with a free way in, ranked by how much free dictation you actually get.

For free dictation with no stated weekly cap, start with Spokenly's free Local Models plan or the open-source FluidVoice. Apple Dictation, built into macOS, is the option if you want nothing to install. Pepys Dictate and Wispr Flow both cap free use at 2,000 words a week on desktop, so they rank lower for heavy daily use.

How we ranked them

  • The cap on free use: apps with no stated weekly cap rank above apps with one, and ties are broken by criteria 2, 3 and 4 in that order.
  • What the free plan includes, such as cleanup, languages and a custom dictionary.
  • Setup and requirements: macOS version, Apple silicon, downloads and accounts.
  • Where audio goes on the free path, in the vendor's own wording.

Pepys Dictate is our app. We ranked all seven apps on the same criteria, using facts read from each vendor's own pages on 2026-10-05, and we list cons for every app, ours included. Dictate's free plan is capped at 2,000 words a week, and five apps with no stated weekly cap rank above it for that reason. Apple Dictation ranks last of those five because its pages state no price or plan and it has no custom dictionary we could find. Dictate and Wispr Flow tie on the desktop cap, so we put Dictate first for its 500 bonus words and daily dictation after the cap, while Wispr Flow's free plan includes snippets and a dictionary, against Dictate's 10 words.

  1. 1. Spokenly

    Best for: Unlimited free dictation with local models and no account

    Spokenly's Local Models plan is $0 forever with unlimited use. Local speech models run offline and need no account. A second $0 plan lets you bring your own API keys and pay the provider directly.

    Pros

    • No word cap, trial clock or account on the Local Models plan.
    • Per Spokenly, local-only mode blocks every network request, so dictation with on-device models stays on the Mac.
    • Over 100 languages, with quality varying by model and language, per Spokenly.
    • Runs on macOS 13.3 or later, and on Windows, Linux and iOS.

    Cons

    • Hosted AI text cleanup, managed cloud models and sync need Pro, shown as $8.33 a month billed $99.99 a year.
    • AI Instructions can send the transcript to AI services even when transcription ran locally.
    • Some local models need Apple silicon; local Whisper runs on Intel but is heavy on the CPU.
    • We found no custom dictionary or snippets on the pages we read.

    Pepys Dictate compared with Spokenly

  2. 2. FluidVoice

    Best for: Free and open source, for people on macOS 15 or later

    FluidVoice is free and open source under GPLv3, with no paid tier and no usage limit stated. Speech recognition runs on the Mac by default, and cloud use depends on what you switch on.

    Pros

    • A choice of several speech models, including Whisper and Apple's own speech engine, with stated language coverage per model.
    • Per-app prompt sets, Write Mode and Command Mode go beyond plain dictation.
    • An optional on-device Fluid-1 model strips filler words, fixes casing and adapts tone to the active app.
    • Installable through a Homebrew cask.

    Cons

    • Needs macOS 15.0 or later.
    • Apple silicon is recommended; Intel Macs work through Whisper models.
    • The optional Fluid Intelligence runtime is private, not open source, and the vendor says its free status may change.
    • Anonymous usage analytics are on by default, with an opt-out. Voice, audio and transcribed text are stated as not collected.

    Pepys Dictate compared with FluidVoice

  3. 3. Superwhisper

    Best for: Unlimited local Whisper dictation with custom vocabulary

    Superwhisper's Free plan keeps unlimited dictation with local Whisper models, up to two modes without AI processing, custom vocabulary and text replacements. New users also get 3,000 words of free access to all Pro features.

    Pros

    • No word cap on the Free plan's local dictation.
    • Custom vocabulary and text replacements are included free.
    • Works offline with local voice models.
    • If you upgrade later, Pro is $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once.

    Cons

    • Per its docs, cloud models, AI modes, file transcription and system audio recording need Pro.
    • Free allows two modes, and neither can use AI processing, though its homepage Free card lists more.
    • Needs macOS 14 or later, and local models run well mainly on Apple silicon.

    Pepys Dictate compared with Superwhisper

  4. 4. MacWhisper

    Best for: Plain Whisper dictation with no stated cap, from an app that also handles files

    MacWhisper's free tier is described as free forever and includes system-wide dictation with Whisper. Cleanup, AI prompts, meeting recording and speaker recognition are Pro, at EUR 64 once.

    Pros

    • Transcription is local by default, and the homepage lists offline use.
    • Supports 100 languages, per its homepage.
    • Runs on Intel Macs too, though Apple silicon gets GPU acceleration.

    Cons

    • Free dictation is plain Whisper output. Spelling and grammar cleanup needs Pro plus your own AI key or a local model.
    • Dictation is secondary to file and meeting transcription in this app.
    • System-wide dictation exists only in the direct-download version, not the Mac App Store build.
    • Its Gumroad page lists macOS 14.0 and higher.

    Pepys Dictate compared with MacWhisper

  5. 5. Apple Dictation

    Best for: Casual dictation with nothing to install

    Dictation is a macOS setting (System Settings > Keyboard > Dictation) that works in any text field on the Mac. The Apple pages we read state no price or plan for it.

    Pros

    • Starts from a shortcut or the Microphone key, with no install step.
    • No dictation length timeout: it stops after 30 seconds without speech.
    • Adds commas, periods and question marks automatically in supported languages, and spoken commands cover other punctuation, new lines and emoji.
    • Offers on-device processing for a published list of languages.

    Cons

    • We found no custom dictionary or snippets on the Apple pages we read.
    • When Dictation does not run on the device, audio is sent to and processed on Apple servers.
    • Auto-punctuation covers fewer languages than Dictation itself: 33 of 63 language and region entries on the macOS 27 page, as we counted them.
    • Apple states that Dictation is not available in all languages or regions.

    Pepys Dictate compared with Apple Dictation

  6. 6. Pepys Dictate(our app)

    Best for: Light daily use where formatting and spoken corrections matter

    Pepys Dictate's free plan gives you 2,000 words a week, with smart formatting and all 25 languages. After that you get one free dictation a day until Monday, when words reset.

    Pros

    • Spoken corrections, lists, numbers and filler-word removal are included on the free plan.
    • Speech recognition and formatting run on your Mac, with no account.
    • Sharing your stats card adds 500 words for the week, and every new install starts with a 7-day trial of everything.
    • A free licence for people who need dictation because of an injury or disability: email contact@pepys.co.

    Cons

    • 2,000 words a week is a real cap, and the free plan allows a 10-word dictionary on 1 Mac.
    • Mac only, and it needs an Apple silicon Mac on macOS 13 or later.
    • Dictation covers 25 languages, not 100 or more.
    • No meeting notes or team features.
  7. 7. Wispr Flow

    Best for: Light use across Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android on one account

    Wispr Flow's Free plan gives 2,000 words a week on desktop and 1,000 a week on mobile, with no credit card. It includes a dictionary, snippets and limited Notetaker access.

    Pros

    • One account across Mac, Windows, iOS and Android, which Dictate cannot match.
    • Per-app tone, snippets and a Command Mode for editing text by voice.
    • Notetaker records meetings without a bot on Mac or Windows, with limits on the free plan.
    • Supports 100+ languages.

    Cons

    • Transcription always runs in the cloud. With no connection, the desktop app saves your audio for retry instead of transcribing.
    • The same 2,000-word weekly desktop cap as Dictate, and 1,000 words on mobile.
    • Data sharing for training is a user setting: if allowed, audio, transcripts and edits may train Wispr models. The default is not stated on the page we read.
    • Free Notetaker has a weekly meeting limit that the pricing page does not specify.

    Pepys Dictate compared with Wispr Flow

Questions about these apps

Is there a free dictation app for Mac with no word limit?

Yes, several state no weekly cap. Spokenly's Local Models plan is $0 forever with unlimited use. FluidVoice is free and open source with no usage limit stated. Superwhisper's Free plan keeps unlimited local Whisper dictation, and MacWhisper's free tier includes system-wide dictation. Apple Dictation is built into macOS.

Is Apple Dictation free on Mac?

Dictation is a macOS setting, and the Apple pages we read state no price or plan for it. Apple says Keyboard settings show whether it runs on the device. If it does not, audio is sent to and processed on Apple servers.

Do free dictation apps send my audio to the cloud?

It depends on the app. Spokenly's local-only mode blocks all network requests, and FluidVoice recognises speech on-device by default. Pepys Dictate runs recognition and formatting on your Mac. Apple Dictation is on-device only for some languages. Wispr Flow states its transcription always runs in the cloud.

What happens when Dictate's 2,000 free words run out?

You get one free dictation a day until Monday, and the dictation you are in always finishes. Words reset every Monday. Sharing your stats card adds 500 words for the week. Pepys Dictate Pro removes the cap for $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable.

Where these facts came from

Try Pepys Dictate on your Mac

Free for 2,000 words a week, or $9.99 once, plus tax where applicable, for unlimited use on up to 3 Macs. Speech recognition and formatting run on your Mac.

One email when it launches. Nothing else, and you can unsubscribe in one click.

Apple silicon, macOS 13 or later. More about Pepys Dictate